Skip to main content

Driving positive change to make a difference

Our legal duties

The Equality Act 2010 protects people from discrimination. It also helps to make sure that people have equal opportunities at work and in the services they can access. It includes a list of ‘protected characteristics’. Employers and service providers are not

allowed to use any of these characteristics as a reason to discriminate against anyone:

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender reassignment Marriage and civil partnership Pregnancy and maternity
  • Race Religion and belief
  • Sex
  • Sexual orientation

A part of the law called the ‘Public Sector Equality Duty’ describes how public authorities like the WMCA must follow the Equalities Act in their work. Its aim is to make these authorities think about equality in everything that they do.

The Duty says that the WMCA must:

  • Eliminate discrimination, harassment, victimisation and any related prohibited conduct

  • Advance equality of opportunity between people who share a ‘relevant protected characteristic’ and people who do not share it

  • Foster good relations between people who share a relevant protected characteristic and people who do not share it